Canberra Hospital building three

Health Directorate is fully accredited with the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS).

These results are a tribute to the hard work and dedication of staff, and an achievement of which the community can be proud.

The ACHS is an independent, non-profit organisation whose mission is to promote continuing improvement in the quality of care delivered by Australian healthcare organisations.

2011 Accreditation

2011 Periodic Review - Survey Team Summary Report

Download: Survey Team Summary Report (PDF File - 1140k)

Media release

Health Directorate receives four year accreditation.

  • Media release
Download: Media Release - 19 July 2011 (PDF File - 136k)

The ACHS Evaluation and Quality Improvement Program (EQuIP)

Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS) banner

The ACHS Evaluation and Quality Improvement Program (EQuIP) is an accreditation program, which provides appropriate management tools, including industry approved standards and focuses on outcomes. EQuIP aims to assist healthcare organisations to continuously improve performance in order to provide the highest quality services to the community. The EQuIP cycle is a four-year cycle. There are two on-site surveys within the cycle, one every two years.

This program uses standards and self-assessment processes to identify opportunities for improvement and assistance in producing improvement. The standards address the issues considered most important in providing quality and safe health care and are organised into:

  • Continuum of Care

These standards cover the care and services provided to consumers/patients. They are organised to follow the care process from when the consumer/patient accesses the health care service through to when they leave.

  • Infrastructure standards

The infrastructure standards cover the main functions within an organisation that are needed to support the delivery of quality and safe care. The infrastructure standards are arranged into:

  • Leadership and Management
  • Human Resources Management
  • Information Management
  • Safe Practice and Environment


For further information visit